Sculpture garden at the Minorite Monastery

The former Minorite Monastery’s garden is being opened to the public for the first time as a sculpture garden and is being adorned with a variety of art pieces. The human being, the cross and light form the thematic focus of a selection of exemplary sculptural pieces taken from the collections of the state of Lower Austria.

A piece by Manfred Wakolbinger introduces the topic of sculpture at Minoritenplatz Square. Work in the garden by Eva Afuhs, Gottfried Höllwarth, Franz Katzgraber, Per Kirkeby and Ona B. provide insight into the sculptural work of the 1990s and also illustrate the diversity of the used materials, which include glass, copper, railway rails, granite, iron pipes, brick and wood. With its original purpose being a place of spirituality and inner contemplation, the historical garden can now be experienced in a new context. The former Minorite Monastery and its early Gothic basilica (today the Klangraum Krems Minoritenkirche) as well as the new Forum Frohner building form a unique symbiosis of historical and modern architecture. Acting as both events and exhibition venues, the buildings also form a unique hub of contemporary art.


Children’s playground on the Danube River promenade

Redesigned in the summer of 2008, Krems’ playground is just a 5-minute walk from Museum Square.

Krems’ playground at the Danube promenade can be easily reached from the city both on foot and by bike. Families arriving by car can follow the signs with directions to “Schiffsanlegestation” (“Ship docking station”). Parking is also available there.


Steinertor Arch

Krems’ landmark, the Steiner Tor Arch is the only of the four former city gates to have survived. Built in the late 15th century, the main tower features a number of inscriptions on its facade, including “AEIOU” (“Alles Erdreich ist Österreich untertan” – “The whole world is subject to Austria”), a saying in memory of Frederick III. Three coats of arms from 1756 adorn the city’s entrance. On the left is that awarded by Emperor Friedrich III, which features the crowned double-headed eagle on a black background and which is still in use today. Next to this, in the middle, visitors can see Empress Maria Theresia‘s coat of arms, whilst Ladislaus Posthumus’ coat of arms can be seen on the right.

​​Located in the base area, Leo Zogmayer’s installation containing metal cubes with proclamations is a reminder of the persecution and extermination of Jewish citizens in Krems after 1938. The area beyond the Steinertor Arch used to be prone to flooding by the Danube. Built for protection against flooding, the city walls could only be removed after the river was regulated in the 19th century. Extensive dam construction in the early 20th century during the construction of the Wachaubahn railway was another factor that made removal possible. A memorial stone located inside the Steinertor Arch stands as a reminder of the 1573 flooding catastrophe when an ice dam flooded the highway.

The Lower and Upper Country Roads have acted as Krems’ old town main axis since the Middle Ages. With a length of 700 meters, the latter road forms Krems’ pedestrian zone. It starts behind the Steiner Tor Arch and leads up to the Wiener Brücke Bridge. 

Kremser Tor

Built in 1470, Stein‘s Kremser Tor Arch was adorned with baroque elements in 1700 and a coat of arms in 1716. The east-facing facade features the saying: “God‘s blessing gained, all is obtained.”

Schiele’s house

Though painter Egon Schiele attended the former secondary school (today’s Realgymnasium Ringstraße), he spent more time walking in the vineyards around Krems than attending class. His time at school in Krems (1901/02) was consequently short-lived. During this time, he lived at Alleestraße (today's Schillerstraße 12) with Katharina Pokorny, Lieselotte Nuhr’s grandmother, who provided him with board and food. A plaque there commemorates the great Austrian painter.

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List